Rhydderck’s Journal #4

15 Winterwane

It seems my record-keeping has failed for the last week, but in my defense I had a horrible time on board the Dragon Opal, may I never deal with water again! The captain insisted that the pitching about was normal, but I’d never been so sick aboard a boat in my life. When we reached Axis I was glad to have the chance to get to dry land. I’m not sure it actually improved anything, because after almost three days at sea, the ground felt like it was rolling. I was queasy enough I didn’t get much nutrition besides a few cups of fruit juice, but that was more than I’d had aboard ship. While trying to calm my roiling stomach, I had plenty of time to walk the shorelines to examine them for any features familiar to the Lady’s dreamscape, but nothing has seemed familiar yet. I think with all the standing at the ship’s rail I would’ve seen anything specifically obvious in the natural contours of the shoreline, but I can’t be sure.

Getting back aboard ship for the next leg of the trip was hard, but I have to say that I did sleep better aboard ship with the relaxing wave noises as background music. It was night when we reached Glitterhaegen, so I woke this morning to find us in port and I could get off this ship. Time consuming as it might have been, I think I’m going to have to continue my search on foot. I asked around for a tavern or inn which might have knowledgeable locals willing to guide an old man to odd destinations. Aside from raised eyebrows and strange looks, I didn’t think I’d found anything, but a man stopped me on the street and asked if I was the one looking for a guide. Between laughing with him about how he’d recognized me as the one looking for oddity, I met Kieran and he took me to a house on the outskirts of the city. His brother was the guide, he explained, but might need a bit of encouragement.

Encouragement was an understatement. This grouchy young man, Doran — well, young by comparison — didn’t seem all that keen about wandering around with an old man he obviously thought was mad, chasing after dreams. Since the only location I had that was clear enough to test (unlike the shoreline which could be anywhere, that is) was between Anvil and the Bitterwood, and we’d have to go around if we weren’t going to bring bodyguards, he didn’t seem all that pleased. His brother spent some time talking to him, and I have a feeling the words consisted of “this is a paying job, you idiot”. Not the greatest start to my travels (if I can be forgiven for trying to forget the awful voyage), but Doran was pleasant enough once we were on the road. I guess he was pleased that I had every intention of doing my part, rather than using him as a servant. From what I can piece together, it sounded like he didn’t have much good to say about anyone who couldn’t pull his own weight. I could, at least with some slight forgiveness for my age, and that seems to suit him fine.

He hasn’t really started any conversation except for brief interchanges about food, camping, and so on, but I have hope that he’ll ask me why we’re really out here. It might only confirm his assumption that I’m mad, but wouldn’t most people be intrigued to think I’m investigating a new method of predicting the future? Or even divining the past? This could be very useful, and not just to the small fish in the big pond. I might even have to limit how much I say… this is going to get hard quite quickly if the Archmage or Emperor starts poking their nose into it. I have a feeling the Three don’t need my help with magic, even if sorcery is often different than wizardry.

But it’s not wizardry! This isn’t a spell I’ve cast, it’s something I happened upon during meditation. For all I know, others could’ve been there before as well. I’ve never seen anyone out of place, but it’s hard to suggest that I’ve seen everything there is to see when I can’t even be sure what it is I’ve seen so far. If others could reach this pocket dimension as well as I, the Lady might pull away, or close it off somehow. It’s worth asking, then, am I the only one who has come across this place? If so, why me? What connects us together so?

Notes:
– Tell Doran I’m researching a secret project, to be presented only once complete. Hopefully he buys that.
– What do I say when I get to Ferncombe? Same thing? They’d treat me like I was using them as lab rats.
– If the hanging hasn’t happened, does that mean it’s not real, or just that it hasn’t happened yet?

2 thoughts on “Rhydderck’s Journal #4

Leave a comment