Currently

How is it seriously July right now? I know I’ve been hiding from the heat wave, but I still knew the date. I guess I hadn’t quite processed that the 30th of June is followed by the 1st of July? (As dumb as that sounds, it’s a fact as I started this post I really hadn’t put two and two together until someone else did it for me.) I think the heat has fried my brain, but maybe that’s just me fretting over my current contracts. There’s not a lot of sanity left to lose, if I’m honest.

Loving

My current ghostwriting contracts! As much as I love to write, it is not always possible to freelance and have 100% job satisfaction. I know, doing it for yourself you have more control, but nothing’s foolproof. I am so thrilled to have two active ghostwriting contracts, both of which have me enthralled in the story line. One is Regency Romance from a prewritten plot, the other is a Paranormal Romance series starter that I have almost full control over—and a lot of thought already devoted to. Both have different strengths and weaknesses, but I think they’re wonderful for me. The Regency novel is going to be longer, and it’s a denser sort of writing (have to be all proper to be era-appropriate), but the looser paranormal novel is going to be a lot of fun, too! I’m enjoying both, and look forward to ongoing future relationships with these clients (I hope). Really, the best way for me to work is to find clients that I enjoy working for and keep working with them.

Reading

I started a six-book collection, the Crookshollow Gothic Romance series, last night, and I was really enjoying getting swept away by the quick dive head-first into plot shenanigans. I needed a break from Regency novels for a bit to get me to switch gears for my second contract (the paranormal romance), and this seemed like a good way to do that.

I also recently finished Ivy Sparks’ Barbarian King’s Mate, and once that goes live my five-star ARC review of it will get posted too. If you enjoy sci-fi exploration of strange planets (on-planet more than fancy tech or in-space activity), scary alien creatures, and sexy barbarians to the rescue, I think you’ll enjoy that book. I really enjoy how well Ivy Sparks can immerse her readers in a new planet with weird ways. I don’t think I’ve read anything of hers that was set in space or in a higher-technology setting, the other book I read of hers was also on a semi-barbaric planet. Both good. Steam warning! If you’re not up for that, this isn’t for you.

Watching

I watched some really random shows this past month, mostly a few episodes and then I moved on. I watched everything from Amazon’s Thunderbirds Are Go to BBC’s The Musketeers, as well as some Outlander (rewatching so I can figure out where I left off) and standup comedy (thank you Brad Williams, for making me laugh). Oh, and I love Odd Thomas (RIP Anton Yelchin) and I actually shelled out money to rent Grease because I needed to watch it right then. Not my norm, but hey, I can afford a few dollars for a movie rental every so often. Just delays my next delivery pizza by a few days.

Listening To

I’ve actually started listening to For the Wolf, by Hannah Whitten, as an audiobook. I don’t usually do audiobooks, as my focus is required for most of the tasks I do (ie. writing), but the ebook queue is backed up considerably at both my local library and the Boston Public Library. I enjoyed listening to it while I was setting up my next planner (I use the undated six-month Self Planner from BestSelf, Co) and that worked out well, so I’ll probably listen to more this weekend when I set up my next quarterly Self Journal, too. The exercise bike in the community room got replaced with a massive cache of air conditioning units to install after the new windows, so I can’t listen while cycling. Other than that, I’m not sure what activities I can do that don’t require so much of my focus… I could listen while crocheting, but there is no [expletive] way I’m playing with heavy yarn in this heat.

There’s ongoing construction in my apartment building as they replace the fifty-year-old windows (building dated 1970) in vast swaths top-to-bottom. Haven’t gotten to me yet, but damn if it’s not horribly audible anywhere on the building. I’d swear concrete echoed if that made any sense at all. Anyway, I’ve been listening to a lot of YouTube music mixes in hopes of drowning out the construction so I can focus on work. For the most part I think it’s been successful.

Thinking About

Work, honestly. With two contracts going on at once, when I’m done with (or stumped by) one for the day, I just switch gears to the other. I haven’t been doing much other writing lately, mostly because I have used all my brainpower on a given day for work projects. I still have a roleplaying game played by post and one freeform roleplay I’m trying to keep up with, but it’s a precarious balance that I juggle better some days than others. Shame, really, I need more hobbies that don’t involve writing. Or mindless games on my iPhone which I play long into the night when I ought to be sleeping.

Wishing

I really wish summer meant something other than high heat and high humidity. I think I could handle dry heat like the American Southwest, or even Caribbean heat with the breezes near the ocean. But this? This is a menace. All summer is to me is a time when I sweat like crazy even indoors (because no, expecting my weenie air conditioner to do better than drop the temperature ten to maybe fifteen degrees is asking too much) and get heat-exhaustion-triggered migraines. (Speaking of which… I ought to lie down.) I don’t mind thunderstorms, so I think I’ll enjoy this weekend, but I’m feeling a bit nutty with the heat wave. I’m not even sure I can call it a heat wave anymore… it’s climate change in action. This is the new normal. But I don’t have to like it, so I’ll continue wishing for pleasant 60-70F temps and cool breezes. Until autumn, when I’ll get that for all of two weeks before the temperature plummets and I start whining again. Yes, I’m fully aware I’m a hypocrite.

Anticipating

Really I’m psyched up about these novels I’m working on. My list of things to do consists of upcoming deadlines, another ARC review I’ve promised, and reminders that I shouldn’t disconnect from all social activities completely in spite of needing to do so while trying to focus. I love the characters I’m creating, and it’s always fun getting to know them as they get hit with plot hurdles and unexpected disasters. Because yes, what is a protagonist for, except for the author to commit atrocities upon? (Cue maniacal laughter.)

I have a lot of words to churn out in the near future, so my next six weeks will likely be something of a stressed-out blur as I focus on words per day to get my contracts completed. That may mean I’m delayed with stories for this blog, despite how far along they are already. That’s just my reality right now, however much I dislike being slow when I’m finally getting back to posting stories again.

Making Me Happy

I’ve really been getting a kick out of the attention my cat has been paying me. Some of it is begging for treats (I’m not a complete idiot). But some of it is her continuing and constant desire for companionship, which is precisely why I like having a pet in the first place. I’m not permitted to have a second cat for her to play with (lousy rental agreement rules), but she does pretty well cooped up inside with me, even in this heat. She tries to snuggle on my lap or in bed for at least a little while every day, until one or both of us are too hot to be comfortable. But she hasn’t stopped trying, which really pleases me.


Stay safe, stay cool, stay healthy.

Cheers,
~Marie

Leave a comment